PNG extends Visa on Arrival privileges to Pacific Island states

Jan 8, 2024 | Blog, News

Click on the image to go to the PNG Immigration website for more details.

Papua New Guinea has recently declared an extension of Visa on Arrival (VOA) privileges to encompass all Pacific Island States and Territories. Chief Migration Officer Stanis Hulahau made this official announcement recently, underlining the intent to strengthen ties with Pacific Island States and Pacific Forum nations, as reported by Loop PNG.

Effective immediately, this expansion includes passport holders from Micronesian and Polynesian States and Territories, rendering all Pacific Island States in Polynesia, Micronesia, and Melanesia eligible for VOA at designated entry points, such as Jacksons International Airport and the Wutung land border post.

CMO Hulahau was quoted in the media as saying, “I am pleased to announce that passport holders from all Pacific Island States and territories can now get a visa on arrival. They no longer need to apply fora visa before their departure, and we will communicate the same to all operating airlines and relevant international bodies on this new inclusion.”

Among the immediate beneficiaries are nationals from American Samoa, Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Samoa, Tonga, Tuvalu, and the French Territories of French Polynesia (Tahiti), Wallis and Futuna. New Zealand passport holders and those from its territories, including Cook Islands, Niue, Tokelau, and the United States territories of Guam and Northern Mariana Islands, can now avail themselves of the VOA facility. This extension complements the existing list of Melanesian countries, including the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Fiji, and New Caledonia.

For Pacific Islanders visiting PNG, the VOA entry requirements include a valid passport with at least six months of validity, a return ticket, and a completed arrival card. Qualified Pacific Islanders will be issued an Easy Visitor Visa for a 60-day stay per visit. CMO Hulahau expressed confidence that including all Pacific Island States in this facility would promote increased movement, facilitate trade and services, and boost regional tourism.

In addition to the Pacific Island States, PNG is expanding VOA privileges to Diplomatic, Official, and Service passport holders from the People’s Republic of China, Japan, the State of Israel, and the Republic of Indonesia based on bilateral visa exemption agreements. Additionally, Chinese tourists with ordinary passports participating in organised group tours with a PNG-registered tour operation are eligible for VOA for specific short stays, adding another dimension to PNG’s dynamic visa policy landscape.